Writing with a Twist
Writing with a Twist
JUST BREATHE
0:00
-1:26

JUST BREATHE

Sometimes I forget to breathe.

Gazing on a sunset scene.

Involuntary movements cease.

Or when you’re lost in a stare.

His blue eyes suck every ounce of air.

Left listless, floating nowhere.

When a criminal draws a gun.

Consequences seen are none.

Just pull the trigger and run.

Sometimes I forget to breathe.

Sometimes I forget to smile.

Mouth filled with yellow bile.

Corners turned down all the while.

Like a tree living without bark.

It’s ripped clean of all its spark.

Left naked, standing in the dark.

In order to change this façade,

It would truly take an act of God.

There’s so much of me to defraud.

Sometimes I forget to smile.

Sometimes I remember my worth.

That freckle-face baby at birth.

Who innocently arrived on this earth.

She takes up space in a room.

Because she’s always looking to bloom.

Craving to shed her given costume.

Arms up and ready to play.

She declares it to be a good day.

The utter joy takes her breath away.

Sometimes I remember my worth.

And then…I remember to breathe.

Discussion about this podcast

Writing with a Twist
Writing with a Twist
Life is a spiral from darkness to joy and round again.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sarah Bliss Daly