Writing with a Twist
Writing with a Twist
The Naivety of Fifty
1
0:00
-1:27

The Naivety of Fifty

1

It’s the halfway mark of measurement.

Glass half full, or half empty?

We all have a choice to make

When turning the ripe age of fifty.

Memories come floating back

As I now have decades behind me.

Some haunt…some still cause a smile.

My karmic past riding beside me.

I now pay attention to my soul

And I go to the gym on the reg.

Back in my heyday of wild youth,

I would just stand upside down on a keg.

My twenties were dripping with youthful experience

Naivety presented as a fool.

But just being launched from teenage angst

I’m probably being a bit cruel.

My thirties were thick and blurry with rage.

Infused with a lack of sophistication.

Reaching out, barely scratching the surfaces

Living in constant frustration.

My forties held space for everyone around

A groundswell of preparation

For massive loss and also new love.

My naivety was building a foundation.

And now that I’ve reached that midway point

That is, if I live to one hundred.

I’m still naïve, but dancing in charm

And nothing but wide-eyed wonder.

I sit at the feet of curiosity

And breathe in her answers each day

Looking forward to things I do not know

My wisdom holding hands with naivety.

Discussion about this podcast

Writing with a Twist
Writing with a Twist
Life is a spiral from darkness to joy and round again.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sarah Bliss Daly